Select Page

Student Activities & Organizations

STUDENT ACTIVITIES

Students can take part in one large all-school Student Party tradition each semester. In the fall, students may participate in the annual Halloween Costume Contest, and in the spring the MIAD Talent Show. There are several smaller activities that take place throughout the year including: taking part in the AIDS Walk/5K Wisconsin, a themed movie marathon, and other initiatives and events often determined and led by Student Party.


STUDENT Organizations

MIAD students create and run their own organizations, and any group of students, upon request, can create a new organization that meets its interests.  Current organizations include:


ASIAN CREATIVE UNION (ACU)

A student-led organization with a mission to promote cultural awareness on campus concerning Asian experiences in America, particularly in the creative setting. Our aim is to facilitate healthy conversations amongst the student population who are interested in learning more about this experience while providing a safe and supportive environment for creatives of various Asian backgrounds.
Student Leader (President): Thomas Pham (thienpham@miad.edu)
Student Leader (Vice President): Arianna Bono (ariannabono@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: Rina Yoon (rinayoon@miad.edu)
External Advisor: Quyen Tonnu (toquyentonnu@alumni.miad.edu)

 


AMERICAN SOCIETY OF INTERIOR DESIGNERS (ASID)

We are a group of IA+D students who are passionate about connecting with our professionals and preparing and learning about what is expected of us in our future careers. Through education, knowledge sharing, advocacy, community building and outreach, we strive to advance the interior design profession and, in the process, to demonstrate and celebrate the power of design to positively change people’s lives. We host chapter meetings every month, participate in state-wide events and raise money so we can take our members to events at no cost. Whether you are a student pursuing interior design or architecture, or not, this is a huge opportunity to learn more about the industry and a way to extend your network early on.
Faculty Advisor: Bob Lynch (robertlynch@miad.edu)

 


ALPHA LAMBDA DELTA (ALD)

The purpose is to encourage superior academic achievement among students in their first year in institutions of higher education, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their role in society. Alpha Lambda Delta is a Greek honorary society, not a fraternity or sorority. The focus is on encouraging others academically, serving others through philanthropic efforts and becoming strong citizens in our society.
Interim Staff Advisor: Duane Seidensticker (duaneseidensticker@miad.edu)

 


BLACK STUDENT UNION (BSU)

A student run union open to all, dedicated to creating a safe and inclusive space for Black MIAD students, and fostering healthy dialogue concerning inclusivity and diversity within the college. The MIAD chapter of the Black Student Union intends to promote and educate on the Black experience in both our college and country.
Temporary Student Leader: Evie Barron (eviebarron@miad.edu)

 


DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS

D&D club is a gathering place for fans of all tabletop RPGs, meeting online through a club discord server. We connect players, share resources, art, and inspiration and host creative events. We’re open to everyone, whether you’re a veteran GM or a brand new player.
Student Leader: Taylia Smith (tayliasmith@miad.edu)

 


EXERCISE CLUB

Exercise Club is for anyone looking to stretch and get a short and (hopefully fun!) workout into their schedule. We will typically meet and exercise for about 30 minutes every other week. We also try to vary our activities and are always open to recommendations!
Student Leader: Sarah Belott (sarahbelott@miad.edu)

 

 

GRADIENTS

We strive to encourage active participation among the student body to engage in dialogue, events and workshops to better understand POC’s (people of color) experiences.  These interactions assist in creating an empathetic environment.
Student Leaders: Aña Edwards (anamarieedwards@miad.edu) and Setirah McDade (setirahmcdade@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: Kim Miller (kimmiller@miad.edu)

 


GENDERS AND SEXUALITIES ALLIANCE (GSA)

We are a group of LGBTQIA+ students and allies striving to create a safe and unified space for all. We offer information on LGBTQIA+ terminology and resources, as well as support to fellow LGBTQIA+ individuals. GSA raises awareness for LGBTQIA+ students at MIAD and connects them to the community. Members can participate in volunteer activities, connect with LGBTQIA+ resources in the community, and gather in a safe environment. We host Ally Week, Words Hurt Week, and the Day of Silence annually.
Student Leader: Abby Schwab (abigailschwab@miad.edu)
Staff Advisor: Richard Anderson-Martinez (randersonmartinez@miad.edu)

 

INDUSTRIAL DESIGNERS SOCIETY OF AMERICA (IDSA)

The ID professional group is the Student Chapter of the IDSA.  Active since the mid-80’s this chapter organizes professional events and guest lectures and workshops with invited designers. Members attend events of the Wisconsin Chapter of IDSA.  Members are encouraged to attend the regional and national conference of the IDSA.
Student Leaders: Sabrina Cameli (sabrinacameli@miad.edu) and Szymon Salamon (szymonsalamon@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisors: John Caruso (johncaruso@miad.edu) and Pascal Malassigné (pascalmalassigne@miad.edu)

 

INTERVARSITY

We’re a group that wants to serve and love the people at MIAD and in Milwaukee. We take a look at how our art and spirituality are connected through weekly Bible studies, prayer and community.
Advisor: Josh Green (josh.green@intervarsity.org)

 

MAGIC: THE GATHERING

We aim to create a time and place for MIAD students that play, or are interested in learning how to play, Magic the Gathering. Players of all formats are welcome to join us as we enjoy some casual games of magic.
Student Leader: Paolo Vacala (paolovacala@miad.edu)
 

 

POCKET GALLERY

Pocket Gallery’s goal is to produce and develop a monthly zine featuring a variety of work submitted from the student body. Anything goes in terms of submission (illustrations, paintings, photography, writing, videos, etc.). Our team not only collects and curates work, we also conduct student interviews, write short articles, manage a website and maintain a social media presence! If you’re looking for a fun way to connect to your peers’ artwork, Pocket Gallery might be the right fit for you!
Check out our website!
Follow us @miadpocketgallery
Student Leader: Adam Fehring (adamfehring@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: TBA Fall 2021

 


STUDENT PARTY

Have a lot of great ideas for events and initiatives we can do on campus and in the area?  Do you like planning and being involved?  Then Student Party is the place for you!  Help with the MIAD Student Party Traditions – AIDS Walk WI, Halloween Costume Contest, Movie Marathon, and more.  We meet virtually every Wednesday during the common hour.
Contact us: studentparty@miad.edu


If you are interested in starting an organization that doesn’t currently exist please contact Student Party (studentparty@miad.edu).
Please submit the following in reference to the organization you’d like to create:

  1. Proposed name of the organization.
  2. Names of the organizing student(s), including a primary contact person.
  3. Name(s) of the proposed faculty/staff advisor(s) – if applicable.
  4. A statement that the organization is open to all and exclusively composed of currently enrolled MIAD students.
  5. A statement of compliance with and support for all MIAD policies and procedures.
  6. Purpose and objective of the group.
  7. Is a meeting space needed?
  8. What platform will the group use to conduct meetings (in-person, Google Meet, Zoom, Microsoft Teams, etc)?

 

circle-square-triangle