Select Page

Student Activities & Organizations

STUDENT ACTIVITIES

Students can take part in one large all-school Student Party tradition each semester. In the fall, students may participate in the annual Halloween Costume Contest, and in the spring the MIAD Talent Show. There are several smaller activities that take place throughout the year including: taking part in the AIDS Walk/5K Wisconsin, a themed movie marathon, and other initiatives and events often determined and led by Student Party.

 

STUDENT Organizations

MIAD students create and run their own organizations, and any group of students, upon request, can create a new organization that meets its interests.  Current organizations include:


ASIAN CREATIVE UNION (ACU)

A student-led organization with a mission to promote cultural awareness on campus concerning Asian experiences in America, particularly in the creative setting. Our aim is to facilitate healthy conversations amongst the student population who are interested in learning more about this experience while providing a safe and supportive environment for creatives of various Asian backgrounds.
Student Leader (President): Thomas Pham (thienpham@miad.edu)
Student Leader (Vice President): Arianna Bono (ariannabono@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: Rina Yoon (rinayoon@miad.edu)
External Advisor: Quyen Tonnu (toquyentonnu@alumni.miad.edu)


AMERICAN SOCIETY OF INTERIOR DESIGNERS (ASID)

We are a group of IA+D students who are passionate about connecting with our professionals and preparing and learning about what is expected of us in our future careers. Through education, knowledge sharing, advocacy, community building and outreach, we strive to advance the interior design profession and, in the process, to demonstrate and celebrate the power of design to positively change people’s lives. We host chapter meetings every month, participate in state-wide events and raise money so we can take our members to events at no cost. Whether you are a student pursuing interior design or architecture, or not, this is a huge opportunity to learn more about the industry and a way to extend your network early on.
Faculty Advisor: Bob Lynch (robertlynch@miad.edu)


ALPHA LAMBDA DELTA (ALD)

The purpose is to encourage superior academic achievement among students in their first year in institutions of higher education, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their role in society. Alpha Lambda Delta is a Greek honorary society, not a fraternity or sorority. The focus is on encouraging others academically, serving others through philanthropic efforts and becoming strong citizens in our society.
Student Leaders: Hannah Antonissen (hannahantonissen@miad.edu)
and Grace O’Connor (graceoconnor@miad.edu)
Staff Advisor: Alea Cross (aleacross@miad.edu)


ANIME CLUB

A laid-back club meant to bring together those that enjoy Japanese animation and comics. We host monthly anime screenings and help with the preparation for the local anime convention Milwaukee held in February.
Student Leaders: Katherine Hambrock (katherinehambrock@miad.edu)


BLACK STUDENT UNION (BSU)

A student run union open to all, dedicated to creating a safe and inclusive space for Black MIAD students, and fostering healthy dialogue concerning inclusivity and diversity within the college. The MIAD chapter of the Black Student Union intends to promote and educate on the Black experience in both our college and country.
Temporary Student Leader: Evie Barron (eviebarron@miad.edu)


DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS

D&D club is a gathering place for fans of all tabletop RPGs, meeting online through a club discord server. We connect players, share resources, art, and inspiration and host creative events. We’re open to everyone, whether you’re a veteran GM or a brand new player.
Student Leader: Miles Hinz (aubreyhinz@miad.edu)

 

FILM CLUB

Film Club offers exposure to classic and contemporary cinema from all over the world through weekly screenings and discussions, with the hope of further expanding knowledge of the medium and providing a good source of inspiration for working in the field of art and design.
Student Leaders: Lewis Perry (lewisperry@miad.edu), Sonal Jain (sonaljain@miad.edu)
and Alan Peralta (alanperalta@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: Jamal Currie (jamalcurrie@miad.edu)

 

GRADIENTS

We strive to encourage active participation among the student body to engage in dialogue, events and workshops to better understand POC’s (people of color) experiences.  These interactions assist in creating an empathetic environment.
Faculty Advisor: Kim Miller (kimmiller@miad.edu)


GENDERS AND SEXUALITIES ALLIANCE (GSA)

We are a group of LGBTQIA+ students and allies striving to create a safe and unified space for all. We offer information on LGBTQIA+ terminology and resources, as well as support to fellow LGBTQIA+ individuals. GSA raises awareness for LGBTQIA+ students at MIAD and connects them to the community. Members can participate in volunteer activities, connect with LGBTQIA+ resources in the community, and gather in a safe environment. We host Ally Week, Words Hurt Week, and the Day of Silence annually.
Student Leader: Abby Schwab (abigailschwab@miad.edu)
Staff Advisor: Richard Anderson-Martinez (randersonmartinez@miad.edu)

 

GRAPHIC NOVEL BOOK CLUB

Are you passionate about Graphic Novels? Are you interested in discussing the medium with other like-minded people? Are you interested in reading graphic novels that are different and unique in their own right? The MIAD Graphic Novel Book Club is a bi-weekly club where we get together and discuss and read all types of comics! From the manga lover, to someone whose only interested in superhero comics, come join us!
Student Leader: Matthew Spencer (matthewspencer@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: Chris Beetow (chrisbeetow@miad.edu)

 

INDUSTRIAL DESIGNERS SOCIETY OF AMERICA (IDSA)

The ID professional group is the Student Chapter of the IDSA.  Active since the mid-80’s this chapter organizes professional events and guest lectures and workshops with invited designers. Members attend events of the Wisconsin Chapter of IDSA.  Members are encouraged to attend the regional and national conference of the IDSA.
Student Leaders: Olivia Paul (oliviapaul@miad.edu) and Dasha Florov (dariaflorov@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisors: John Caruso (johncaruso@miad.edu) and Pascal Malassigné (pascalmalassigne@miad.edu)

 

INTERVARSITY

We’re a group that wants to serve and love the people at MIAD and in Milwaukee. We take a look at how our art and spirituality are connected through weekly Bible studies, prayer and community.
Advisor: Josh Green (josh.green@intervarsity.org)

 

ISO

ISO is a student-run photography club at MIAD dedicated to providing learning resources and professional practices through artist talks, studio visits and workshops allowing deeper interest in the medium of photography. ISO also aims to build a strong photography community not only within the walls of MIAD but within the greater Milwaukee community.
Student Leader: Allie Fischer (alliefischer@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: Jon Horvath (jonhorvath@miad.edu)

 

MAGIC: THE GATHERING

We aim to create a time and place for MIAD students that play, or are interested in learning how to play, Magic the Gathering. Players of all formats are welcome to join us as we enjoy some casual games of magic.
Student Leader: Kohl Mandeau (kohlmandeau@miad.edu)
 

POCKET GALLERY

Pocket Gallery’s goal is to produce and develop a monthly zine featuring a variety of work submitted from the student body. Anything goes in terms of submission, we’d like to see a variety of personal pieces and projects from different classes. We’d also like to give them a choice in how they’re credited (ie. an Instagram or Twitter handle). Due to COVID-19, our zine will be posted on a new website which we will be getting out shortly!
Student Leader: Adam Fehring (adamfehring@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: Andrew Bernier (andrewbernier@miad.edu)


STUDENT PARTY

Have a lot of great ideas for events and initiatives we can do on campus and in the area?  Do you like planning and being involved?  Then Student Party is the place for you!  Help with the MIAD Student Party Traditions – AIDS Walk WI, Halloween Costume Contest, Movie Marathon, etc.  We meet virtually every Wednesday during the common hour.
Email: studentparty@miad.edu

 

VIDEO GAME CLUB

Join Video Game Club for a variety of different games from Smash Brothers to Mario Kart to indie games and cinematic games. Try out newly released games to check it out and see if you like it in a before you buy play session. Here you can come play against other friends or together and have a fun time socializing with people that like games just like you.
Student Leaders: Xavier Perez (xavierperez@miad.edu) and Brianna Biloff (briannabiloff@miad.edu)

 

If you are interested in starting an organization that doesn’t currently exist please contact Student Party (studentparty@miad.edu)
Please submit the following in reference to the organization you’d like to create:

  1. Proposed name of the organization.
  2. Names of the organizing students, including a primary contact person.
  3. Name(s) of the proposed faculty/staff advisor(s) – if applicable.
  4. A statement that the organization is open to all and exclusively comprised of currently enrolled MIAD students.
  5. Statement of compliance with and support for all MIAD policies and procedures.
  6. Purpose and objective of the group.
  7. Is a meeting space needed?
  8. What platform will the group be using to conduct meetings (in-person, Google Meet, Zoom, Microsoft Teams, etc)?

 

circle-square-triangle