Select Page

Student Activities & Organizations

STUDENT ACTIVITIES

Students can take part in one large all-school Student Party tradition each semester. In the fall, students may participate in the annual Halloween Costume Contest, and in the spring the MIAD Talent Show. There are several smaller activities that take place throughout the year including: taking part in the AIDS Walk/5K Wisconsin, a themed movie marathon, and other initiatives and events often determined and led by Student Party.

 


 

STUDENT Organizations

MIAD students create and run their own organizations, and any group of students, upon request, can create a new organization that meets its interests.  Current organizations include:


A CAPELLA GROUP

More info coming soon!
Student Leader: Miranda Larsson (mirandalarrson@miad.edu)

 

ALPHA LAMBDA DELTA (ALD)

The purpose is to encourage superior academic achievement among students in their first year in institutions of higher education, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their role in society. Alpha Lambda Delta is a Greek honorary society, not a fraternity or sorority. The focus is on encouraging others academically, serving others through philanthropic efforts and becoming strong citizens in our society.
Student Leader: Leah Beining (leahbeining@miad.edu)
Student Leader: Faith Allen (faithallen@miad.edu)
Staff Advisor: Mónica Lloyd (monicalloyd@miad.edu)

 

AMERICAN SOCIETY OF INTERIOR DESIGNERS (ASID)

We are a group of IA+D students who are passionate about connecting with our professionals and preparing and learning about what is expected of us in our future careers. Through education, knowledge sharing, advocacy, community building and outreach, we strive to advance the interior design profession and, in the process, to demonstrate and celebrate the power of design to positively change people’s lives. We host chapter meetings every month, participate in state-wide events and raise money so we can take our members to events at no cost. Whether you are a student pursuing interior design or architecture, or not, this is a huge opportunity to learn more about the industry and a way to extend your network early on.
Student Leader (President): Lynn Xing (lynnxing@miad.edu)
Student Leader (Secretary): Bree De Vreis (briannadevries@miad.edu)

 

ANIMATION CLUB

A club that allows for students particularly of the animation track and interest to be able to come to this gathering, and be able to bond and share their favorite animation works. We utilize our club time to allow members to submit their favorite animated short films, music videos, MAPS (multi animator projects), and even their own work for display. We create these submissions in the form of a playlist, where people can submit their beloved works on our very own Discord server. As the club continues to grow, we hope by the end of the year, we can do a short and fun collaborative animation project of everyone’s work and display it, and have a final watch party to admire our efforts.
Student Leader: Ava Seberg (avaseberg@miad.edu)
Student Leader: Izzy Washkowiak (izzywashkowiak@miad.edu)

 

ANIME CLUB

Anime Club is a club made for other anime fans to not only sit and watch shows, but also meet and discuss their favorite shows with others as well. The club is friendly for people who have been fans for years as well as people who want to get more into watching the media. Every couple of months there will be a game night for anime-related prizes as well as other fun events.
Student Leader: Callen Thompson (shelbythompson@miad.edu)

 

ASIAN CREATIVE UNION (ACU)

A student-led organization with a mission to promote cultural awareness on campus concerning Asian experiences in America, particularly in the creative setting. Our aim is to facilitate healthy conversations amongst the student population who are interested in learning more about this experience while providing a safe and supportive environment for creatives of various Asian backgrounds.
Student Leader (President): Gerri Solomon (gerrisolomon@miad.edu)
Student Leader (Vice President): Arianna Bono (ariannabono@miad.edu)
External Advisor: Quyen Tonnu (toquyentonnu@alumni.miad.edu)

 

BLACK LEADERS AND ARTISTS COALITION (BLAC)

A student-run union open to all, dedicated to creating a safe and inclusive space for Black MIAD students, and fostering healthy dialogue concerning inclusivity and diversity within the college. The MIAD chapter of the Black Student Union intends to promote and educate on the Black experience in both our college and country.
Student Leader: LaDasia Bryant (dasiabryant@miad.edu)

 

CERAMICS CLUB

Ceramics Club is a community of individuals interested in all things ceramic and is open to students, staff and faculty of all skill levels! During our meetings in the Sculpture Lab, we will be working on a wide variety of self/student-led projects that will help develop clay making skills and techniques. Students are encouraged to express themselves through personal projects and opportunities such as guest-led demonstrations and other special events. This club is meant to be a fun and light-hearted opportunity to work with our hands!
Student Leader:
Greta Solien (gretasolien@miad.edu)

 

COLLAGE CLUB

Collage Club welcomes any MIAD student to come relax, hang out, and create. Whether scrapbooking or collaging, for fun or for school, stay creative without the stress!
Follow us @miadcollageclub
Student Leader: Autumn Silva (autumnsilva@miad.edu)

 

CONCEPT ART CLUB

Concept Art Club is a gathering of students that are intrigued, excited by, or create Concept Art. We share art and resources with each other, we invent new concepts to create art on, and we generally have a good time being artists with similar interests.
We meet every Wednesday in Room 405C.
Student Leader:
Felix Castro (felixcastro@miad.edu)
Student Leader: Emi Rutherford (emilyrutherford@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: John Matson (johnmatson@miad.edu)

 

CREAM OF THE CROP CLUB

A place to share your knowledge and also learn something you didn’t know about plants.
Student Leader: Nate Smith (natesmith@miad.edu)

 


DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS

D&D club is a gathering place for fans of all tabletop RPGs, meeting online through a club discord server. We connect players, share resources, art, and inspiration and host creative events. We’re open to everyone, whether you’re a veteran GM or a brand new player.
Student Leader: Taylia Smith (tayliasmith@miad.edu)

 


FIBERS CLUB

Open to all MIAD students, Fibers Club is rooted in the exploration of all things fiber!  During our meetings, we will demonstrate various fiber techniques, such as knitting, crochet, sewing, embroidery and mending.  We will also be hosting guest speakers and workshops throughout the year. Join us and bring your current WIP! 
Student Leader: TBD
Faculty Advisor: Sarah Eichhorn (saraheichhorn@miad.edu)

 

FLICK CLIQUE

We are a film club that wishes to amplify every corner of cinema! From silent films all the way from the beginning of film to what comes tomorrow, we embrace all the odds and ends of cinema! We also want to show films from all over the world, and create a safe space for BIPOC folks to talk about and show us their favorite films! So c’mon, show us your favorite flick!
Student Leader: Penelope Padilla (penelopepadilla@miad.edu)

 

HILLEL MILWAUKEE

Hillel Milwaukee strives to create a dynamic, warm and celebratory Jewish environment for Milwaukee’s university students and young adults.
Director of Jewish Student Life: Anna Goldstein (anna@hillelmke.org)

 

HORROR MOVIE CLUB

The purpose of the Horror Movie club is to watch different kinds of horror that are out there. For horror movie fans we welcome you to come join us as we watch horror movies, and for those who aren’t fans of horror movies we will also be watching comedy horror and family friendly horror. We will also be taking suggestions for movies to watch. Everyone is welcome to join us!
Student Leader: Julio Rivera (juliorivera@miad.edu)
Student Leader: Michael Salgado (michaelsalgado@maid.edu)

 

INDUSTRIAL DESIGNERS SOCIETY OF AMERICA (IDSA)

The ID professional group is the Student Chapter of the IDSA.  Active since the mid-80’s this chapter organizes professional events and guest lectures and workshops with invited designers. Members attend events of the Great Lakes Chapter of IDSA.  Members are encouraged to attend the regional and national conference of the IDSA.
Student Leader: Peyton Hartis (peytonhartis@miad.edu)
Student Leader: Emma Travitz (emmatravitz@miad.edu)
Faculty Advisor: John Caruso (johncaruso@miad.edu)

 

INTERVARSITY

We’re a group that wants to serve and love the people at MIAD and in Milwaukee. We take a look at how our art and spirituality are connected through weekly Bible studies, prayer and community.
Advisor: Josh Green (josh.green@intervarsity.org)

 

MIAD SOUND COLLECTIVE

We’re a group engaged in sharing knowledge on sound artists and equipment while supporting each other through the making of both solo and collaborative audio-based projects. Also, in partnership with Riverwest Radio 104.1 FM, we produce a monthly radio show.
Advisor: Peter Barrickman (peterbarrickman@miad.edu)

 

PHOTO CLUB

More info coming soon!
Student Leader: Ethan Pierce (ethanpierce@miad.edu)

 

POCKET GALLERY

Pocket Gallery’s goal is to produce and develop a bi-monthly booklet featuring a variety of artists from the expanded MIAD community! Anything goes in terms of submission (illustrations, paintings, photography, writing, videos, etc.). Our team not only collects and curates work, we also conduct student interviews, write short articles, manage a website and maintain a social media presence! If you’re looking for a fun way to connect to your peers’ artwork, Pocket Gallery might be the right fit for you!
Check out our website!
Follow us @miadpocketgallery
Student Leader: Eleri Extence (eleriextence@miad.edu)

 

SOMXS UNDXS

More info coming soon!
Student Leader: Reigann Owens (reigannowens@miad.edu)

 

STUDENT PARTY

Have a lot of great ideas for events and initiatives we can do on campus and in the area?  Do you like planning and being involved?  Then Student Party is the place for you!  Help with the MIAD Student Party Traditions – AIDS Walk WI, Halloween Costume Contest, Movie Marathon, and more.  We meet every Wednesday during the common hour (11am-12:30pm) in room 399A.
Contact us: studentparty@miad.edu

 

VIRTUAL FARMING CLUB

The virtual farming club is all about farming games! We will discuss various aspects of virtual farm games such as Stardew Valley, Staxel, and animal crossing. We will also give everyone an opportunity to showcase their farms and enjoy playing with other like-minded individuals!  Let’s have some fun with farming!
Student Leader: Aaron Rice (aaronrice@miad.edu)

 

ZINE CLUB

Zine book club is a space for students to create, talk about and amplify zines and zine-making. If you are interested in zines as a viewer, creator, or both, you might like Zine Book Club! Experienced zinesters and beginners are all welcome!
Student Leader: Cedar Meik (cedarmeik@miad.edu)
Student Leader: Asher Belangia (asherbelangia@miad.edu)


If you are interested in starting an organization that doesn’t currently exist please contact Student Party (studentparty@miad.edu).
Please submit the following in reference to the organization you’d like to create:

  1. Proposed name of the organization.
  2. Names of the organizing student(s), including a primary contact person.
  3. Name(s) of the proposed faculty/staff advisor(s) – if applicable.
  4. A statement that the organization is open to all and exclusively composed of currently enrolled MIAD students.
  5. A statement of compliance with and support for all MIAD policies and procedures.
  6. Purpose and objective of the group.
  7. Is a meeting space needed?
  8. What platform will the group use to conduct meetings (in-person, Google Meet, Zoom, Microsoft Teams, etc)?

 

News

MIAD student work highlights Unfinished Legacy

Unfinished Legacy, a brand started by Milwaukee artist Brema Brema, enjoyed a promotional video created by current Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design senior Hannah Davis for her Digital Media: Video Production elective course in fall 2022. The semester-long project culminated in a three-minute video and three shorter clips advertising the brand.

Two MIAD alumni featured in Museum of Wisconsin Art

The Museum of Wisconsin Art (MOWA), located in West Bend, has announced its “Ten at Ten” exhibition celebrating the work of ten emerging artists for the tenth anniversary in its new Mothership building. Two MIAD alumni, Lindsey Yeager ’21 (New Studio Practice: Fine Arts & Illustration) and Eduardo Zavala ’22 (NSP: Fine Arts), were selected to show work at the exhibition.

“Girl Hero” creator, MIAD alum, on art and subversion

During her final year at MIAD, Zachary Ochoa’s senior thesis was majorly disrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic. Ochoa ’20 (New Studio Practice: Fine Arts) bounced back by creating a fantastical universe of paintings featuring Girl Hero, a trans Mickey Mouse-esque warrior.

Milwaukee sculpture business tapped for NBA trophy

Milwaukee is fast becoming a national hotspot for basketball. Not only is the city home to NBA champions the Milwaukee Bucks, it recently played a pivotal role in creating the newly designed Michael Jordan Trophy, awarded to the Kia NBA Most Valuable Player of the year. Milwaukee’s Vanguard Sculpture Services, the “best fine art foundry on planet Earth,” according to their website, poured and cast the final trophy.

Design Internship approved for NEA grant

Milwaukee high schoolers are getting a head start on their creative careers through the Design Internship at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design. The free, year-long program was recently approved for a $25,000 grant from the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) to expand the program for 2023-2024.