Select Page

Student Activities & Organizations

STUDENT ACTIVITIES

Students can take part in one large all-school Student Party tradition each semester. In the fall students take part in the annual Halloween Party, and in the spring we have the MIAD Talent Show. There are several smaller activities that take place throughout the year including: taking part in the AIDS Walk Wisconsin, bringing therapy animals to campus through the Health Heelers organization, and the annual Blood Drives, and various other initiatives and events often determined and led by Student Party.

 

STUDENT Organizations

MIAD students create and run their own organizations, and any group of students, upon request, can create a new organization that meets its interests.  Current organizations include:

 

ACTIVE MINDS

A campus wide initiative to start the conversation about mental wellness, reduce the stigma surrounding mental health topics, encourage others to seek help, and ultimately prevent suicide. Active Minds was founded by Alison Malmon after she lost her brother to suicide while in college. Suicide is the second leading cause of death among college students. This organization helps empower students and young adults to create a lasting change in the way mental health is talked about, cared for, and valued in our community and the entire United States.
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Hanna Hobson (hannahobson@miad.edu)

 

ASIAN CREATIVE UNION (ACU) 

A student-led organization with a mission to promote cultural awareness on campus concerning Asian experiences in America, particularly in the creative setting. Our aim is to facilitate healthy conversations amongst the student population who are interested in learning more about this experience while providing a safe and supportive environment for creatives of various Asian backgrounds. 
Student Leader: ToQuyen Tonnu (toquyentonnu@miad.edu)
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Rina Yoon (rinayoon@miad.edu)

 

AMERICAN SOCIETY OF INTERIOR DESIGNERS (ASID)

We are a group of IA+D students who are passionate about connecting with our professionals and preparing and learning about what is expected of us in our future careers.  Through education, knowledge sharing, advocacy, community building and outreach, we strive to advance the interior design profession and, in the process, to demonstrate and celebrate the power of design to positively change people’s lives.  We host chapter meetings every month, participate in state-wide events and raise money so we can take our members to events at no cost.  Whether you are a student pursuing interior design or architecture, or not, this is a huge opportunity to learn more about the industry and a way to extend your network early on.
Student Leader: Kristina Lemajic (kristinalemajic@miad.edu)
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Bob Lynch (robertlynch@miad.edu)

 

ALPHA LAMBDA DELTA (ALD)

The purpose is to encourage superior academic achievement among students in their first year in institutions of higher education, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their role in society.  Alpha Lambda Delta is a Greek honorary society, not a fraternity or sorority.  The focus is on encouraging others academically, serving others through philanthropic efforts and becoming strong citizens in our society.
Acting Student President: Hannah Antonissen (hannahantonissen@miad.edu)
Acting Vice President: Grace O’Connor (graceoconnor@miad.edu)
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Alea Cross (aleacross@miad.edu)

 

ANIME CLUB

A laid-back club meant to bring those that enjoy Japanese animation and comics together.  We host monthly anime screenings and help with the preparation for the local anime convention Milwaukee held in February.
Student Leaders: Autumn Willard (autumnwillard@miad.edu) and Liz Bellin (elizabethbellin@miad.edu)

 

DISABILITY RIGHTS, EDUCATION, ACTIVISM AND MENTORING (DREAM)

A national organization for and by college students with disabilities. MIAD has a local DREAM Chapter. DREAM is charged with the mission of advancing the interests of students with disabilities and their allies, in post-secondary institutions across the United States. DREAM advocates for student rights, increased accessibility, and social and policy change. We hope to empower students with disabilities, increase awareness, reduce stigma, and encourage the development of disability culture and peer support.
(adapted from https://www.dreamcollegedisability.org/)
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Becky Skupien (rebeccaskupien@miad.edu)

 

DRAMA CLUB

Drama Club is a place for students to immerse themselves into the world of theatre, in a setting where there are no professionals. At meetings, activities range from watching and analyzing different shows, learning about the art of theatre and its histories, as well as dabbling in script writing and the mechanics of a show, and putting on shows of our own. All are welcome, so come join us!
Student Leaders: Avery Schantz (averyschantz@miad.edu) and Emily Bodecker (emilybodecker@miad.edu). 

 

DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS

A tabletop role-playing game focused on having a good time and an amazing adventure. Everyone is welcome whether you’re a seasoned vet, or have never played before. we meet at the second-floor innovation center every Friday starting at 4:00. 
Student Leader: Raphaelle Depuhl (raphaelledepuhl@miad.edu)

 

FIBERS CLUB

Bring your knitting, crochet, cross-stitch, spinning wheel, loom or anything else fiber-related and just chill and work on your new projects, ask questions, and learn some new skills! Refreshments will be provided, come when you can. We meet every other Tuesday during the common hour and have a new theme each week with a demo and opportunities to experiment.
Faculty/Staff Advisors: Shawn Simmons (shawnsimmons@miad.edu) and Maggie Sasso (maggiesasso@miad.edu)

 

FILM CLUB

Bringing exposure to classic and contemporary cinema from all over the world through weekly screenings and discussions, with the hope of further expanding knowledge of the medium and provide a good source of inspiration for working in the field of art and design. 
Student Leaders: Lewis Perry (lewisperry@miad.edu), Sonal Jain (sonaljain@miad.edu) and Alan Peralta (alanperalta@miad.edu)
Faculty/Statt Advisor: Jamal Currie (jamalcurrie@miad.edu)

 

GRADIENTS

We strive to encourage active participation amongst the student body to engage in dialogue, events, and workshops to better understand POC’s (people of color) experiences.  These interactions assist in creating an empathetic environment. 
Student Leaders:
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Kim Miller (kimmiller@miad.edu)

 

GENDERS AND SEXUALITIES ALLIANCE (GSA)

We are a group of LGBTQIA+ students and allies striving to create a safe and unified space for all. We offer information on LGBTQIA+ terminology and resources, as well as support to fellow LGBTQIA+ individuals. GSA raises awareness for LGBTQIA+ students at MIAD and connects them to the community. Members can participate in volunteer activities, connect with LGBTQIA+ resources in the community, and gather in a safe environment. We host Ally Week, Words Hurt Week, and the Day of Silence annually.
Student Leader: Abby Schwab (abigailschwab@miad.edu)

 

GRAPHIC NOVEL BOOK BLUB

Are you passionate about Graphic Novels? Are you interested in discussing about the medium with other likeminded people? Do you want to be interested in reading other graphic novels that are different and unique in its own right? The MIAD Graphic Novel Book Club is a bi-weekly club where we get together and discuss and read all types of comics! From the manga lover, to someone whose only interested in superhero comics, come join us!
STUDENT LEADER: Matthew Spencer (matthewspencer@miad.edu)
FACULTY ADVISOR: Chris Beetow (chrisbeetow@miad.edu)

 

INDUSTRIAL DESIGNERS SOCIETY OF AMERICA (IDSA)

The ID professional group is the Student Chapter of the IDSA.  Active since the mid-80’s this chapter organizes professional events and guest lectures and workshops with invited designers, members attend events of the Wisconsin Chapter of IDSA.  Members are encouraged to attend the regional and national conference of the IDSA. 
Student Leader: Van Heyer (vanheyer@miad.edu)
Faculty/Staff Advisors: John Caruso (johncaruso@miad.edu) and Pascal Malassigné (pascalmalassigne@miad.edu)

 

INTERVARSITY

We’re a group that wants to serve and love the people at MIAD and Milwaukee. We take a look at how our art and spirituality are connected through weekly Bible studies, prayer, and community. 
Advisor: Josh Green (josh.green@intervarsity.org)

 

ISO

A student run photography club at MIAD dedicated to providing learning resources and professional practices through artist talks, studio visits and workshops allowing deeper interest in the medium of photography.  ISO also aims to build a strong photography community not only within the walls of MIAD but within the greater Milwaukee community.
Student Leader: Allie Fischer (alliefischer@miad.edu)
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Jon Horvath (jonhorvath@miad.edu)

 

MAGIC: THE GATHERING

We aim to create a time and place for MIAD students that play or are interested in learning how to play Magic the Gathering.  Players of all formats are welcome to join us as we enjoy some casual games of magic.
Student Leader: Kohl Mandeau (kohlmandeau@miad.edu)

 

MIXED MARTIAL ARTS

Student Leader: Hailey Roddy (haileyroddy@miad.edu)

 

PRINT CLUB

MIAD Print Club was formed by a group of rag tag print making bandits working as missionaries of the process. Hosting workshops, designing tee shirts, fundraising for events – we’re pulling proofs like it’s 1440. Novices welcome – we’ll make a printmaker out of you! We manifest our own destiny – come plan events with us!
Student Leader: Ariel Scott (arielscott@miad.edu)
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Matt Presutti (matthewpresutti@miad.edu)

 

ROLLING RATS

We roll around Milwaukee on skates, boards and bikes, traveling to different trails.
Student Leader: Dasia Florov (dariaflorov@miad.edu)

 

SUPER SECRET CARTOON CLUB

The goal of this group is to cultivate a space where students of MIAD can be exposed to and be inspired by a wide variety of western animation from the golden age to today. It is my objective to make the group as fun and casual as possible. 
Student Leader: Wilson Sell (wilsonsell@miad.edu)
Faculty/Staff Advisor: Kate Schaffer (kateschaffer@miad.edu)

 

STUDENT PARTY

Have a lot of great ideas for events and initiatives we can do on campus and in the area?  Do you like planning and being involved?  Then Student Party is the place for you!  Help with the MIAD Student Party Traditions – AIDS Walk WI, Blood Drives, the MIAD Halloween, Health Heelers, etc.  We meet every Wednesday in the 399A.
EMAIL: studentparty@miad.edu

 

VIDEO GAME CLUB

Join Video game club for a variety of different games from Smash Brothers to Mario Kart to indie games and cinematic games. Even try out new games just released to check it out and see if you like it in a before you buy play session. Here you can come play against other friends or together and have a fun time socializing with people that like games just like you.
Student Leaders: Xavier Perez (xavierperez@miad.edu) and Brianna Biloff (briannabiloff@miad.edu)

 

If you are interested in starting an organization that doesn’t currently exist please contact Student Party (studentparty@miad.edu)
Please submit the following in reference to the organization you’d like to create:

  1. Proposed name of the organization.
  2. Names of the organizing students, including a primary contact person.
  3. Name(s) of the proposed faculty/staff advisor(s) – if applicable.
  4. A statement that the organization is open to all and exclusively comprised of currently enrolled MIAD students.
  5. Statement of compliance with and support for all MIAD policies and procedures.
  6. Purpose and objective of the group.
  7. Is a meeting space needed?

 

circle-square-triangle