Select Page

AaronBoese-webIt’s a Major Deal – an exhibition that gives sophomores and juniors the opportunity to exhibit – demonstrates the impressive talents from students across all majors and disciplines.

MIAD Core Coordinator Nicholas Frank says, “The annual ‘It’s a Major Deal’ exhibition showcases the best work of MIAD sophomores and juniors in all disciplines. As recognition of exemplary student work, the show serves essential functions for Milwaukee’s top art & design school: it offers a view of the excellent projects our students achieve on a day-to-day basis, and the work our faculty do to prepare students for their chosen professions.”

Frank adds, “The exhibition also provides another direct interface with MIAD’s Milwaukee public, to promote the clear and demonstrable value of education in the creative fields.” 

It’s a Major Deal is on view through March 1 in the Frederick Layton Gallery. During an opening reception and award ceremony on January 30, multiple students won awards.

kyleparnau-webIA+D Excellence in Design Awards
• For Body of Work: Adam Gerhard ’15 
• For Individual Piece: Ariel Szott ’15 for her Coffee Table Design
• For Body of Work: Kyle Parnau ’16 
• For Individual Piece: Ziyang Vincent Luo ’16 for his House Design and Presentation
• For Individual Piece: Matt Eckman ’16 for his Table Design

Industrial Design
alexskroblin-web• Aaron Boese ’15, “Holder,” Materials and Methods 1 course
• Randy Michael ’16, “2-Cut,” Materials and Methods 1 course
• Natalie Quinnies ’15, “Convex/Concave,” Industrial Design 1 course
• Alexandra Skroblin ’16, “Personal Project – Phone Keypad Dial Patterns,” Industrial Design 1 course
• Bennett Westling ’16, “Medical Device,” Materials and Methods 1 course

Special mention: Adam Carter ’15, “Personal Project – ‘Manifesto’ game design,” Industrial Design 1 course

2D/4D, juror: Chris Klein, President, AIGA Wisconsin
emilyebert-webCommunication Design:
First Place: Emily Ebert ’15
Second Place: Brenna Finnegan ’16
Third Place: Keri Wheeler ’15
Fourth Place: Amber Norenberg ’15

First Place: Kaley Hamilton ’16
Second Place: Uriah Fracassi ’15
Third Place: Gabriela Riveros ’15
Fourth Place: Dominique Whitney ’16

Fine Arts, juror: Sara Krajewski, INOVA Director, UWM Peck School of the Arts
First Place: Margaret Halquist ’15
Second Place: Reece Ousey ’15
Honorable Mention: Michelle Sharp ’15

First image: Aaron Boese ”15Second image: Kyle Parnau ’16Third image: Alexandra Skroblin ’16Fourth image: Emily Ebert ’15Fifth image: Kaley Hamilton ’16