Select Page

image | MIADMIAD alumni create digital-media works that examine the diversity of motion-based media in Motion 15: A Juried Alumni Media Exhibition.

The exhibit features 16 MIAD alumni from a variety of majors, each creating a unique motion-based digital media work that expresses how time-based media functions within their own creative endeavors. 

Motion 15 is on view in the Frederick Layton Gallery Oct. 16 – Dec. 5, with an Opening Reception on Fall Gallery Night, Friday, Oct. 16, 5 – 9 p.m.

The selected works include narrative and abstract videos, video installations, motion graphics, motion-based web design, animation and 3D motion imaging. 

image | MIAD

The exhibition was juried by Kim Miller (MIAD Chair of Fine Art), Jamal Currie (MIAD Associate Professor of Fine Art) and Monica Obniski (Milwaukee Art Museum Demmer Curator of 20th and 21st Century Design). 

Participating alumni include: Brandon Bauer ’96 (Painting), Mallori Taylor ’15 (TBM), Wesley Cathon ’13 (TBM), Nick Waraksa ’04 (Communication Design), Kyle James ’15 (TBM), Adam Osgood ’06 (Illustration), Kayle Karbowski ’15 (ISA), Travis Whitty ’09 (TBM), Nirmal Raja ’08 (Painting), Amy Cannestra ’06 (Communication Design), Erik Holman ’09 (TBM), Chris Willey ’04 (Drawing), Maeve Jackson ’14 (ISA), Xavier Ruffin ’10 (Communication Design), Anne Linginfelter ’09 (Communication Design) and Brett Suemnicht ’14 (Printmaking).