Select Page

MIAD students once again swept the student awards portion of the annual United Adworkers Milwaukee 99 awards show.

Winners include:

image | MIAD

Gold: Brenna Finnegan ’16 (Communication Design), Native Bear, “Native Bear Hard Root Beer Package Design,” taught by Phil Belair

“I want to thank the MIAD Communication Design faculty for making an environment that issafe to explore in, to fail in and to keep going,” said Finnegan, who received a $500 scholarship for her design for Native Bear.

image | MIAD

Silver: Katie Parlow ’16 (Communication Design), Debbie Sajnani ’16 (Communication Design), Kelly Rasmussen (Marquette) and Jeffrey Craig ’16 (Communication Design), United Way of Greater Milwaukee, “Better Than a Condom,” taught by Tony Seaman


Merit: Brenna Finnegan ’16 (Communication Design), Greater Together, “UniteMKE,” taught by Phil Belair

“Brenna works until she gets the details right and then goes back in and improves the design even more. Her final decisions keep her identity, packaging and advertising design work authentic and fresh. We are pleased that Brenna represented MIAD’s Communication Design program so well at the Milwaukee 99 Adworkers Awards,” added Phil Belair, MIAD faculty member.

image | MIADMerit: Emily M. Bury ’15 (Illustration), MIAD Senior Thesis Exhibition, “Vermiculture Public Education Brochure Set,” taught by Christiane Grauert and ChristineBeetow.

MIAD alumni also picked up many awards at the Milwaukee 99 in categories such as Public Service Poster Campaigns, logo design and Public Service TV: 30 or Less Campaign. 

Winning alumni include, Madeline Dall ’15 (Illustration), Justyna Babinski ’15 (Communication Design), Bryan Padovano ’12 (Communication Design), Emily Ebert ’15 (Communication Design), Chris Klein ’09 (Communication Design), Josh Zelasko ’15 (Communication Design), Sasha Avrutina ’16 (Communication Design), Maxx Valenti ’10 (Communication Design), Maria Bhatti ’13 (Communication Design), Chelsea Atwell ’10 (Communication Design) and Jackie Berndt ’10 (Communication Design).

Faculty member Phil Belair was also received a merit award for Design Direction in a public service campaign.

Top image: Brenna Finnegan ’16, detail, “Native Bear Package Design”
Second image: Katie Parlow ’16, Debbie Sajnani ’16, Kelly Rasmussen and Jeffrey Craig ’16, detail, “Better than a Condom” 
Last image: Emily M. Bury ’15, Vermiculture brochure cover