Select Page

Select B.F.A. work celebrated in MIAD 2008 Juried Exhibition

May 27-August 10
10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Twenty-four outstanding artists and designers are showing their works at the MIAD 2008 Juried Exhibition.

The works on view were selected by MIAD faculty from the 2008 Senior Exhibition and represent the breadth of the college’s 11Bachelor of Fine Arts majors. The exhibition continues in MIAD’s Frederick Layton Gallery through August 10 at 273 E. Erie Street in the Third Ward. The gallery is open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tues. – Sat. Admission is free.

New this year are Excellence Awards presented by vote of the MIAD Alumni Association. Industrial Design graduate Meghan McGuire received the 2008 – Design Excellence Award for her Aphid high-tech, interactive learning and exploration tool designed to “get today’s kids outdoors.”

Sculpture graduate Colin Dickson received the 2008 – Fine Art Excellence Award for “3 1/2 miles to the center of somewhere else,” an interactive installation that invites viewers to get lost in the geometrics of mass, illuminated space.

The excellence of this newest generation of innovative creators also includes:

  • Communication Design graduate Melissa Eckes’ advocacy campaign for arts education.
  • Time-Based Media graduate Anne Morningstar’s “Reflections,” a series of intricate artist books that interpret the Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale “The Snail and the Rose-Tree.”
  • Integrated Studio Arts graduate Caroline Knueppel’s “Observe, Connect,” a mixed-media installation of portable camera obscuras.
  • Interior Architecture and Design major Martin Vertacnik’s uniquely designed coffee table of multiple woods that embodies architectural sensibilities
  • .

Click here for a full list of participating artists and designers.

Click here for the news release.

Detail of "3 1/2 miles to the center of somewhere else," by Colin Dickson, winner of the 2008 – Fine Art Excellence Award from the MIAD Alumni Association.

Aphid, an interactive learning and exploration tool by Meghan McGuire, winner of the 2008 – Design Excellence Award from the MIAD Alumni Association.

{mospagebreak title=List of Artists}

MIAD 2008 Juried Senior Exhibition participants

Communication Design
Sasimon Boonyavatana
Melissa Eckes
Hee-Won Kim

Erik Baden
Mark Schieber

Michelle Timpone
Nanhee Hwang

Industrial Design
Natalie Schraufragel
Natasha Wier
Meghan McGuire (2008 – Design Excellence Alumni Award winner)

Integrated Studio Arts
John Gatti
Caroline Knueppel

Interior Architecture and Design
Martin Vertacnik
Delia Lopez

Brad Conklin

Katelynd Donoghue
Rebecca Ristic

Karin Haas
Caressa Givens

Colin Dickson (2008 – Fine Arts Excellence Alumni Award winner)
Julia Schilling

Time-Based Media
Anne Morningstar
Heather Hass
Vasilena Slavova